Lydia Hislop crowned broadcaster of the year at the HWPA Awards


Lydia Hislop was crowned Broadcaster of the Year for the second time in three years on a successful day for Racing TV at the 55th Horserace Writers ‘& Photographers’ Association Derby Awards in London on Monday.

Hislop was named Broadcaster of the Year in 2019, 12 months before Racing TV’s Nick Luck won the award for the eighth time, and edged out a number of his colleagues this year – Rishi Persad, Stewart Machin and Nick Luck – as well as John Hunt, Jamie Lynch and Ken Pitterson.

Hislop is a regular presenter on Racing TV and hosts the popular Cheltenham Road show with Ruby Walsh, and also writes the Cheltenham Road column on Although Hislop is best known for her presentation and writing skills, she also provides media training to aspiring British Racing School jockeys.

Shortly before Hislop was announced as Broadcaster of the Year, Racing TV’s Jess Stafford received the Alan Lee Trophy for Emerging Talent in front of more than 600 lunch guests at the Royal Lancaster Hotel, in a ceremony hosted by the Horserace Writers and Photographers Association.

Stafford joined Racing TV as a presenter 12 months ago, and HWPA judges described her submission as “a strong portfolio, showcasing her interview skills and her way of making a subject easy to read. understand”.

Covid-19 meant last year’s Derby Awards were presented from a distance – winners received a late honor on stage on Monday – and HWPA President David Cleary said: “It’s great to be able to organizing the lunch and the awards after two years gap and I have to thank everyone who made this possible, including our sponsors the Hong Kong Jockey Club, Coral and Vertem Asset Management.

“It’s been a tough few years for many of our members, but the point of these awards is to showcase the best racing writing, photography and broadcasts and I’m delighted that this year’s winners – and nominees – really match that. law Project. . “

2021 HWPA Derby Award Winners:

International trainer of the year – Charlie Appleby

Photo of the year – Francesca Altoft

The Arabian Racing Achievement Award – Sheikh Hamdan Al Maktoum

John Oaksey Trophy for Running Journalist of the Year – Chris Cook (racing station)

Owner of the year – Emma Banks

Flat Jockey of the Year – Guillaume Buick

HWPA President’s Award – John Hanmer

Alan Lee Trophy for Emerging Talent – Jess Stafford (Racing TV)

Jump Coach of the Year -Henry De Bromhead

Flat Trainer of the Year – Charlie Appleby

Jump Jockey of the Year -Rachael Blackmore

Broadcaster of the Year Peter O’Sullevan Trophy – Lydia Hislop (Racing TV)

Specialist Writer of the Year – Ian Carnaby

George Ennor Trophy for exceptional achievement -Richard Johnson

Photographer of the year – Patrick McCann (racing station)

Clive Graham Trophy for Motor Racing Writer of the Year – Lee Mottershead (racing station)


About Author

Comments are closed.